The colours of my travels

[Siento que esta entrada sea en inglés pero para poder participar en el concurso tiene que estar escrita en este idioma y no tengo tiempo de escribirla dos veces. Me perdonáis, ¿verdad? De todas formas, siempre podéis traducirla aquí http://translate.google.es/  Winking smile]

My dear fellow blogger Madhu had been nominated for the Capture the Colour competition and left her nominations open for those who like a challenge. I told her I might take it up just for the fun of it. In the blink of an eye my name was already added to her list of nominees! No chickening out allowed, I repeated myself like a mantra, so here is a selection of five photos from my travels which capture the colours blue, green, yellow, white and red.

Blue: Kelo (Chad)

Kids were everywhere. Running around, playing football, eating mangoes, laughing, following you. They want to shake hands, touch your skin, have a close look at that nassarah who’s passing by. They were all gorgeous. I still miss them.

Green: road to Laguna Miramar, Chiapas (Mexico)

Not the most comfortable way of travelling but who cares! I fell in love with Chiapas all the same. Jaw-dropping scenery, welcoming people and yummie food. What else can one ask for?

Yellow: Dallol, Danakil Depression (Ethiopia)

The lowest point in the African continent and claimed to be the hottest spot on earth. It may look awesome but it smells of rotten eggs. You’ve been warned!

White: Debre Berhan Selassie church, Gondar (Ethiopia)

This orthodox priest was posing for somebody else but I was cheeky enough to steal a quick snapshot. He didn’t seem to care.

Red: Erta ‘Ale volcano, Danakil Depression (Ethiopia)

Peering into the crater of an active volcano is by far the most fascinating experience I’ve ever had. We spent hours watching the lava getting angry and calming down, hypnotised by the “big marshmallow pot”.

I’m now supposed to tag five other bloggers and link back to TravelSupermarket on Facebook or Twitter (with the tags @travelsupermkt and #capturethecolour). Like Madhu, I will leave the door open for those who would like to take part in the competition so I won’t nominate anybody. This challenge is open to everyone anyway – you don’t need to be nominated to take part. Just make sure you submit your entry by Wednesday, 29 August 2012.

If you don’t have a Facebook or Twitter account, do not fret. Simply email your entry to capturethecolour[at]travelsupermarket.com, complete with your name, address and phone number.

So, any volunteers? Come on, be a sport!

(Best of luck to those who have already taken part in this competition!)

30 pensamientos en “The colours of my travels

  1. Madhu

    Awesome! Each and every one! Love the priest and the little girl, but also that brilliant yellow sludge and that gorgeous molten lava! Very well done 🙂

    Responder
  2. Nergal

    Let’s try my obsolete English
    Are really stunning photography.
    Chad no words, it’s wonderfull and th others I prefer of Etiopia, but the five photographs are incredible
    For the competition ask to Dess by your secret of ham, it goes a long at her.
    Good luck

    Be happy

    Por si acaso: que las fotos son de p.m., increíbles, mucha suerte en el concurso
    y se condenadamente feliz
    kisses y besos

    Responder
    1. lapuertaentornada Autor de la entrada

      jaja muchísimas gracias compañero. Ya he hecho el encargo del jamón jaja así que si no gano es porque el jurado o era vegetariano, o musulmán, o de mal comer 😉
      Se “jodidamente” feliz!
      Loads of kisses

      Responder
  3. Aitor González

    Las fotos son preciosas, mejores que algunas que se suelen ver en anuncios de viajes. Mis favoritas, la que sale el niño y el cura ortodoxo, no sé bien por qué, supongo que por que las personas son irrepetibles.

    Responder
    1. lapuertaentornada Autor de la entrada

      Gracias, Aitor. No puedo estar mas de acuerdo contigo. A mi las personas me fascinan, tanto su aspecto físico como las historias que esconden detrás de sus ojos. Como tu dices, son irrepetibles.
      Un abrazo

      Responder
  4. asquerosamentesano

    Si yo aluciné en el cráter de un volcán extinguido, imagínate en un volcán en erupción (¡Envidia!).
    Por otro lado, ese amarillo sulfuroso me ha cautivado. Afortunadamente el olor a huevos podridos no se percibe en la foto.

    Thanks for sharing your experiences, and Good Luck!!!

    Responder
    1. lapuertaentornada Autor de la entrada

      Thanks, Jorge!
      Los volcanes, extinguidos o no, son realmente fascinantes. Yo había visto uno en erupción en Costa Rica, de lejos y en la oscuridad de la noche, y ya había alucinado con ver como la lava se resbalaba por la ladera del volcán. Sentir su calor en la cara, no tiene precio.
      Thanks for keeping me company in my travels.
      Un abrazo.

      Responder
    1. lapuertaentornada Autor de la entrada

      I agree. I couldn’t stop watching her when she was around and eventually I had to ask her whether I could take a photo of her. She posed for me and yet didn’t smile. I was happy since it was exactly that expression in her eyes which fascinated me at the time…

      Responder
  5. Elevalunas Ecléctico

    Preciosas fotos las que has elegido. Me gusta esa idea de ver los colores del mundo a través de distintas miradas (o distintos objetivos), es bonita la idea del concurso. Mucha suerte, me alegraría mucho que ganaras alguno de los premios, a ver qué tal se portan esos jueves.

    Responder
      1. lapuertaentornada Autor de la entrada

        jaja si me apuras, los jueves son mas importantes que los jueces. Lo de ganar el concurso es lo de menos (de hecho, todavía no he enviado mi candidatura). Esta era solo la excusa perfecta para compartir con vosotros algunas de mis fotos. Sin embargo, los jueves (después del currele, se entiende) empieza mi fin de semana 😀
        Me alegro de que te hayan gustado las fotos. A mi también me gusta el concepto del concurso.
        Un abrazo

        Responder
    1. lapuertaentornada Autor de la entrada

      Muchas gracias.
      Es curioso lo que cada foto transmite a diferentes personas. A mi esa foto (me imagino que te refieres a la del cura ortodoxo) me transmite mucha calma..
      Un abrazo

      Responder
  6. alterfines

    Hiciste bien aprovechando el momento para retratar al sacerdote ortodoxo en la penumbra, Adwoa :mrgreen:. Es una foto enigmática. Pero casi, casi, me quedo con el paisaje amarillento y “oloroso” de Etiopía.

    Me gustan tus fotografías, y envidio tu libertad de estar en los sitios donde las haces.

    Mucha suerte y un besazo (y atenta al ‘ahorcado’)

    Responder
  7. Pingback: 55 Top Travel Photos From Capture The Colour Competition « Travel Notes – Travel Blog

Opinar es gratis (precio mínimo garantizado)

